Vegetable Pot Pie

23 Mar

We’re not big meat eaters ’round here, as you may have noticed. Sometimes, husband eats chicken. Even rarer, he eats a hamburger. I restrict my meat intake to fish exclusively. Husband doesn’t like fish.

So, mostly, we’re vegetarian, with eggs and milk. But we haven’t forgotten our home-cooked roots, and remember comfort foods. One of my favorite things as a kid was chicken pot pie. It is everything I love: creamy, crusty, warm and filling.

I crave these kinds of “comfort foods” sometimes, and I know it’s not the meat that I’m craving. It’s the warmth, the smell, the memory. And so, I’ve found a way to indulge. Years ago, I found a vegetable pot pie recipe somewhere and wrote it down. If I find it again, I’ll link to it here. Over time, I’ve modified it a bit, so I feel secure posting my recipe here. It’s really yummy.

Just for fun, I made us a special Heart Pie a couple of nights ago:

We heart each other pot pie.

And here’s the recipe:

Vegetable Pot Pie

  • 1 can condensed cream of potato soup
  • 1 bag frozen vegetables (can be any–to get the “traditional” taste I use a bag of peas, green beans, corn, and etc.)
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp rosemary (or more, because I love rosemary)
  • dash of salt
  • a little more than a dash of pepper
  • 2 9″ refrigerated pre-prepared pie crusts, at room temperature
  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine all ingredients (except pie crusts, duh).
  3. Place bottom pie crust in pie dish. Fill with filling. Cover with top crust.
  4. Make slits in top crust. Decorate with extra crust if you want. Cover with foil.
  5. Bake for 40 minutes, then remove foil. Bake an additional 10 minutes or so, until top crust is golden brown.
  6. Cool for 10 minutes before serving.
Leave a Reply

