Herb Pots: The Beginning

24 Mar

I am not a plant-lover. (Except in the eating department, in which I love plants. A lot.) Plants and I have some difficulty communicating. Plants do not speak loud enough when they need to be fertilized. Or brought in out of the cold. Or brought in out of the heat. Or watered.

I have one plant that I’ve kept alive for a couple of years. This is because she is an ivy that lives in a mason jar by the kitchen sink. So I can really see when she needs water. And she doesn’t seem to mind when her water levels get very low before I notice…

So, it’s been a complete shock to myself that I have been wanting a garden. I want to grow something and eat it. I had a similar feeling a few years ago when I started knitting and quilting–I wanted to make something that people could use. There’s just something deeply satisfying about seeing something that you’ve created keeping someone warm and comforted. I think it would be similarly satisfying to see something you’ve grown being consumed by someone.

I grew up on a farm, in fact. We spent most of the summer and a lot of the winter eating things that my stepfather had grown. An amazing gift. I should know more about plants because of this. Unfortunately, I spent most of my home time in a tree, reading. Or painting a mural on the garden shed. Or sitting on the back of the tractor, dropping in okra seeds (wait! look! I did do something for the garden!). My stepfather had all the knowledge and did all the work.

Fortunately for the plants I admired, there is no full sun on our balcony. No full sun anywhere outside our little apartment. Except on a teensy windowsill.

So I’ve invested in an herb garden kit.

Here they are!

Wish them, and me, luck. I did everything I could to give them a good little start!

Sprout, little seeds! I want to eat you!

2 Responses to “Herb Pots: The Beginning”

  1. Marsha March 24, 2011 at 8:38 PM #

    Go, plants, go! YOU CAN DO IT! 🙂

  2. Mary Burrows June 11, 2011 at 10:02 AM #

    … beautifully written …

Leave a Reply

