Dinner Party

21 Jul

Listening to Simon and Garfunkle as I clean this evening.

20120721-t214516.jpg

We had two friends and their toddler over for dinner. Andy made lasagna and I made oregano knots, cabbage salad, and tart cherry pie.

20120721-214551.jpg

We ate, and I showed my friend a secret project I’m working on for my hubby, and we smiled and laughed at their little one and the way he is developing language–following directions, pointing to ‘Mommy,’ ‘Daddy,’ saying ‘no’ quietly to himself as he plays.

20120721-220700.jpg

There was a time in my life that I forgot about the greatness of the small moments, the tiniest part of my life–two hours of an evening–and I longed to do great things. To save the world.

But I am pleased to have the life I live. To have this summer to bake bread and pie and to sit with friends for an hour. And to have an hour to myself when the three members of my family have gone to bed to right things, to put everything in order.

20120721-220554.jpg

I used to listen to these songs alone on my mom’s old record player. The needle was a little scratchy and the speakers decrepit, but i still absorbed them into my skin. And with all that I imagined what kind of future I would have, I never imagined this one.

But it’s… perfect.

Time it was, and what a time it was…
Preserve your memories, for they’re all that’s left you.

2 Responses to “Dinner Party”

  1. Marsha July 25, 2012 at 10:19 PM #

    So glad to see you blogging again. And happy that you are happy. 🙂

    Do you have a recipe for those oregano knots? They look delicious…

    • Shannah Marie July 25, 2012 at 11:02 PM #

      Thank you, Marsha! The recipe is from a cookbook: _The Bread and Bread Machine Bible_ by Christine Ingram and Jennie Shapter. It’s an awesome book! The knots are made in the bread machine on the “dough” cycle, then shaped by hand and baked in the oven.

Leave a Reply

